The book of Ebenezer Le Page by G.B Edwards

by missizziemcguinness

img_7518

The Book of Ebenezer Le Page is a semi autobiographical novel about a man called Ebenezer Le Page who lived his whole life in Guernsey, the Channel Islands, an island between England and France that isn’t necessarily anything like any of its surrounding countries. Ebenezer goes through everything on the island, from losing his friends in both world wars to seeing the rise of tourism on the island.

I was recommended this book by my best guy friend, who, like the character in the book, and like myself lives with the cons of living on a small island. Considering that I usually read books to escape, there was no escapism value to the book. It felt too close to comfort to even be comfortable considering that I live on the island that it is set in. Likewise, I like the narrative, and there are so many places that I recognise that he describes in a lot of detail. The author himself only just finished the book before he died, and it ended up being published after his death. Despite that, in recent years a few notable people have come from the Channel Islands, a main example being the tennis player Heather Watson.

Overall, it is a relatively good book, though I cannot offer an outsiders perspective as I reside where the book is set.

3/5

