Seasons

by missizziemcguinness

This isn’t a conventional Halloween post. By seasons, I mean spring, summer, autumn, winter, not the seasons of your favourite TV show. In the last days of autumn for the year, I often wonder what makes autumn such a wonderful time of year. Is it the heavily romanticised falling leaves? Is it the shades of yellow and orange that somehow complement each other? The pumpkins? Who knows. It’s different for everybody.

Autumn, as I see it, is the awkward but beautiful in between season. When summer is over and winter isn’t quite there yet, it’s good to have a season that glorifies the colour orange (one of my least favourite colours, but only if it’s on clothing). I don’t think there’s anything better than having the fire on when it’s dark outside and watching the TV, or the sight of fallen orange leaves.

I’ve never really been a fan of Halloween. By that, I mean that I don’t really go to Halloween parties, but there’s something so lovely about carved pumpkins and the cold on the same day. Halloween decorations are in the shops by August, and Christmas things arrive in the shops not long afterwards. Bonfire Night is also quite good because I like fireworks, and it reminds me of V For Vendetta.

Happy Halloween.

 

 

 

 

