Muhammad Ali

by missizziemcguinness

image

Don’t quit. Suffer now and live the rest of your life as a champion

This morning, I woke up to the news that Muhammad Ali, the heavyweight boxer, had died at the age of 74. To be honest, I had seen it coming for a long time because he was really unwell, however, whenever I think of boxing, I think of him. I grew up knowing that he was personally the best boxer out there and he has since become a cultural icon to people, both inside and outside the ring. Some of the boys at college idolize him, my history teacher at my last school had a huge poster of him on the back of his classroom door and I always think of Muhammad Ali as the nearly undefeatable, tough as nails championship boxer, which he was.

It’s always very sad when legendary sportspeople, champions, actors and entertainers die. Although I don’t like boxing, Muhammed Ali was hugely inspiring. I also saw a very sad picture of the old him with the young him ready for a match. That definetly thumped me right in the heart.

R.I.P Muhammad Ali.

