Star Wars Episode VI: Return of the Jedi

by missizziemcguinness

images

‘I’ll never turn to the dark side,’ 

Return of The Jedi concludes the original Star Wars series for now as Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill) plans to bring down Darth Vader and learns alot about himself and the truth about his father in more detail.

Return of the Jedi’s purpose was to conclude everything from the previous two films, expand on the vague details, introducing more plot twists (such as Luke and Leia being related) and showing stuff that they didn’t have the plot to or time to show in previous episodes. Leia’s famous bikini costume thing sexualized her character a bit but I think that was the point. Han Solo delivered some somewhat comical lines although Star Wars is known to have a cheesy script. My friend and I were discussing how weird it was how Leia thought that Luke was related to her all along, so the Star Wars universe is accepting of the Oedipus complex. It seemed to be hard to say goodbye to characters who you felt like you knew and loved such as Yoda and even the now more obviously manipulative Darth Vader. I think I read somewhere that Luke has serious daddy issues.

I don’t really have much to say about this film because I probably said it all already. The ending was particularly sad in a powerful and emotional way and I liked how Luke didn’t follow his father onto the dark side and managed to take off Vader’s mask (would have been really cool to include that in V For Vendetta but that’s for another time). I also have a £10.00 replica of Luke’s green light saber. The costumes were fantastic as well.

While this wasn’t the best one ever out of the trilogy, I liked how they tied up all the loose ends and showed crucial plot points. I’ll probably have to re watch the trilogy at some point.

3.5/5

