Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope

by missizziemcguinness

‘The Force will be with you’

George Lucas directs Episode IV, the first film out of the original trilogy in Star Wars. The movie is basically about a young man called Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill), a slightly arrogant captain of the Millennium Falcon Han Solo (Harrison Ford) and two droids called R2-D2 and C3-PO who work together to rescue the kick ass and only woman in the entire film so far, the stunning Princess Leia (Carrie Fisher), who is the leader of the rebel alliance.

I watched this movie with my eleven year old brother and he said that he liked it and he loved how badass Princess Leia was, considering that she was fighting in a man’s world. Most of my college friends seem to love Star Wars, and I got jealous of my two best friends red light sabers because the toys look really cool. This led to a long discussion between me and my best guy friend. Apparently, there are several different versions of the original films.

My favourite character is probably Darth Vader because the mask and long black cloak reminds me of V from V For Vendetta for some reason, or Chewbecca because he’s weirdly cute. I’m sure that the character of Han Solo would grow with me as  I watch more of the films but he comes across as being very over confident and a ‘me-me-me’ type of character, despite the fact that Harrison Ford is a good actor and the young Mark Hamill was really adorable. Most of the scenes were quite obvious CGI but Star Wars is the only film where vast amounts of CGI, some battles in the millenium falcon/outer space (excuse me if I get some of the facts wrong) makes me feel like I’m battling with a light saber in space with them.

I can see why people love star wars almost obsessively. Apparently The Empire Strikes Back (the next one) is the best one out of the entire series. Other films have tried to rip off or copy Star Wars but they have failed drastically.

Great movie, cool cast, and it has made a good contribution to marketing culture with all the merchandise and movies, especially with the upcoming DVD release of the Force Awakens.

4.5/5

