Good-bye to all that by Robert Graves

by missizziemcguinness

image

I have an fairly big interest in World War I, but I prefer reading from the perspective of the soldiers who actually fought in it. They’re all long dead (last one died in 2009) but I still find it very interesting.

Goodbye to all that is an autobiography by the British World War I veteran Robert Graves and his time at Charterhouse school and his truthful memoir of fighting in the Great War. It’s only when you read the raw words of a man whos naivety was lost from the war when you literally stop what you’re doing and read his truthful story.

I read it as research for a story that I’m planning to do. Most of these veterans would have been lovely to meet but now we have to rely on autobiographies and old interviews as they are all long gone.

Brilliant book that captures unfiltered and unedited words from a man who was a source of history.

4/5

