The First and Only by Dan Abnett

by missizziemcguinness

This book is the first of something like the 15 part Gaunts Ghost series, and it is a science fiction series set in a Warhammer universe.

I was asked to read the series by one of my best guy friends at college. Although the entire series is more suited towards men and boys than girls, it looked interesting and certainly avoided the cliches of science fiction. Certainly, the narrative is interesting. The entire book is pretty much war, and when they distract it slightly, there’s still war.

There’s about fifteen books in total for the entire Gaunts Ghosts series. I haven’t read them all yet but I am slowly getting through them. I like how the characters are flawed and three dimensional. Gaunt could be a scheming commissar on one hand and a secret softie with feelings on the other.

4.5/5

