R.I.P Alan Rickman

by missizziemcguinness

image

“When I’m 80 years old and sitting in my rocking chair, I’ll be reading Harry Potter. And my family would say ‘After all this time?’ And I will say ‘Always”

Alan Rickman died today at the age of 69, in the same week as Bowie. Rickman has been in many films that I have watched since I was little, to include the Harry Potter series, Robin Hood:Prince of Thieves and Love Actually, as well as some other well known films such as Sweeney Todd, Perfume: Story of a Murderer, Alice in Wonderland and Die Hard.

It came as a bit of a shock, but he was inspiration for me, my friends, family and many of you too. I like Harry Potter and his acting always stood out for me in anything that he did. My sister was always watching Robin Hood when I was younger and I cannot describe how much the acting world will be empty without him. He was the type of actor who was in more films than I imagined. I tried not to cry at college when someone saw on Facebook that he had died. Some thought that it was fake, until it was very much real and we were all discussing his best roles.

Anyway, he will be missed and I shall watch his movies again in his memory. Alice through the looking glass is his last film. At least he will be with the other greats such as Robin Williams, James Dean, Bowie, Freddie Mercury, the guy who played Dumbledore in the first Harry Potter, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Richard Attenbourgh, Christopher Lee, Micheal Clarke Duncan, Brittany Murphy and so many others. Imagine the heaven exclusive film that they would make and the tribute list at the Oscars this year…

Let’s raise our wands to this inspirational man.

RIP Alan Rickman

1946-2016

