Fright Night (2011)

by missizziemcguinness

image

‘Welcome to Fright Night, for real,’

Fright Night is a 2011 remake vampire movie about a high school boy called Charley (Anton Yelchin)  who concludes that the creepy neighbor Jerry (Colin Farrell) is a vampire, and seeks the help of the illusionist Vincent (David Tennant) to destroy Jerry. It also stars Toni Collette (who always seems to play the mother of weird kids), Imogen Poots, Christopher Mintz-Plasse and Dave Franco.

I went through a really long Twilight stage (don’t judge me, I was 12) and it is fair to say that all vampire films (recent ones mostly) have the same stereotype. American, some sort of ‘in’ crowd, some bad acting and way too many special effects. I’m honestly bored with the vampire genre because they all fall into the same cliches, and vampires were actually considered to be original and creepy in the Noseforatu and Dracula days. I wasn’t really scared by Fright Night at all because it made me laugh a bit too much. I can’t take any of the characters in the movie seriously either.

However, David Tennant seemed to light up the scenes that he was in and stopped the film from becoming a complete stink hole. He had incredible screen presence and my friend (who I was watching the film with) has a massive crush on him from seeing him in Doctor Who. I saw this movie with my friends and I had the  running commentaries and they also had to point out the errors. Apart from David Tennant, the watching it with friends part was the best bit of the viewing, not necessarily the film itself.

Predictable movie but David Tennant saved it.

2.5/5

 

 

