Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

by missizziemcguinness

Harry-Potter-and-the-Sorcerer-s-Stone-the-sorcerers-stone-23841509-1280-5441

‘You’re a wizard, Harry’

Harry Potter and The Philosopher’s Stone is the first film of the popular ten year long series and part of the phenomenon and it is based on the original series written by J.K Rowling. It follows the story of an eleven year old boy called Harry Potter (Daniel Radcliffe) who learns that he’s a wizard and he soon attends Hogwarts.

Harry Potter has slipped into our popular culture. People wish that they were at Hogwarts, studying potions and making friends with Ron (played by Rupert Grint) and Hermoine (played by Emma Watson) while there is the Harry Potter studio in London. I have read the original series and seen the films many times over and it seems to be a rather imaginative story but I am nowhere near obsessed with Harry Potter as much as my sisters are, or indeed some of my friends. Even in the unlikely circumstance that I had never seen any of the Harry Potter films or read any of the books, I would know it by reputation.

I like how the series was long enough to go on for over the cast’s late childhood and teen life. Although most of the lines sound as if they’re being directly read off the script (the ‘you’re a wizard, Harry’ line was improvised), they were only 11 at the time and I suppose that we all have to start somewhere. I remember finding this movie really scary and I used to get scared of Voldermort (played brilliantly by Ralph Fiennes).

A brilliant start to a successful film series with further cast to include John Hurt, Maggie Smith and Alan Rickman.

3/5

 

 

