The Mule

by missizziemcguinness

mule-pants-down

‘You’ve just made your second mistake’

The Mule is a relatively small Australian film set in the 1980s and it is about a drug mule called Ray Jenkins (Angus Sampson) who is caught and held in custody and also detained by members of the Australian Federal police, to include a cunning Detective Tom Croft (Hugo Weaving) and Paris (Ewan Leslie).

Hugo Weaving would probably be the one who I would praise the most for his character and portrayal in this movie. One raise of an eyebrow or an evil eye glance gives such a powerful performance that he just takes over the scenes that he is in, and perhaps the whole film. He has the sneaky side who hits on the assistant and stirs things but in a way he is probably a bit misunderstood, and after all, he is only doing his job. It would also be a film that I would want to watch again because I liked it so much and I would need to capture all the smaller details that I didn’t notice first time round. As for the others, Angus Sampson was ok in his role and after a while, I didn’t really care about the vomit, guts, blood and feces that were vividly splashed across the movie although it was queasy at times, because I knew that it was all fake. It was realistic.

I expected it to be worse, for some reason. Whilst it isn’t a film that I would watch with my Mum, I could probably interpret the film on many different angles. At school, we were taught the consequences of keeping drugs up your, let’s say, rear end, but surprisingly a good drama has been made out of it as a result.

A surprisingly good movie. I can see why Hugo Weaving and perhaps the others are within their comfort zones playing effective roles like policemen and other characters when doing small drama films like this movie and others, rather than multi million pound blockbusters. None of them feel the need to impress anyone and it works out quite well.

Also starring John Noble (who was in stuff like Lord of The Rings), Ewan Leslie, Leigh Whannel and others.

4/5

 

