DVD collection part II

by missizziemcguinness

Lord of The Rings Trilogy- 

lord-of-the-rings-trilogy

This successful trilogy is probably one of my favorite film trilogies ever. I like stepping into the hobbit and Elf world Middle Earth for 8 hours+. My favorite films out of the trilogy are the first and the last LOTR film while the second one sticks the two together. I can also quote LOTR fairly fluently but among my friends and people that I know, there is a very divided opinion into who likes it and who doesn’t.

The Matrix-

Matrix_Agents

The Matrix has played a part in terms of the inspiration and influence for my dystopian story. It is about a computer hacker called Neo (Keanu Reeves) who lives in a parallel universe where humans are machines and highly trained agents led by Agent Smith (Hugo Weaving) are after him. It stars Laurence Fishbourne as Morpheus and Carrie-Anne Moss as Neo’s girlfriend Trinity. I personally found that this movie was good because Trinity wasn’t a sexual object and she kicked butts as a strong female charecter.

Miranda Series 1-3-

miranda_s2_group_2

Miranda is a TV series about a tall woman called Miranda (Miranda Hart) who desperately tries to fit in with adulthood, long term crushes etc. The final episode aired earlier this year and it never fails to make my mum and I laugh.

One Flew Over The Cuckoos Nest- 

One-Flew-Over-The-Cuckoos-Nest-Movie-Poster

Jack Nicholson plays Randall Murphy, a guy who checks into a mental hospital to question his sanity. I originally watched this film to vary my film tastes and the film itself is quite good although not all of those sorts of films appeal to me, although I like some of the older films because newer films only want to pack some pop culture references into their movies. It also stars Christopher Lloyd from Back to The Future and Back to The Future and one of the charecters, the terrifying Nurse Ratched is apparently the most famous female villain in cinema (I heard it from somewhere, I can’t remember where).

The Perks of Being a Wallflower- 

the_perks_of_being_a_wallflower_11

The Perks of being a Wallflower is about a socially awkward high school first year/freshman called Charlie (Logan Lerman) who makes friends with a girl called Sam (Emma Watson) and a guy called Patrick (Ezra Miller). I read the original book before watching the film and I watched the film a while ago so I don’t remember too much of it. Ok, it is overridden with high school cliches but I did find that it was an ok film that made me laugh at times.

The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of The Desert- 

promophoto03-02

This movie is directed by Stephen Elliott and it is classed as an LGBT film. It is about three drag queens named Mitzi (Hugo Weaving), Felicia (Guy Pearce) and transgender Bernadette (Terence Stamp) who go across the Australian outback. I have made many people watch it and I saw a very interesting documentary about it several months ago. I have also told some people how jealous I am because the three male leads look better in dresses and bright costumes than I do and it has a brilliant soundtrack to back up an equally brilliant movie.

The Railway Man-

RailwayMan,TheMech.indd

Railway Man is a true story based on Lomax’s memoir about a man called Eric Lomax in World War II who worked for Burma Railway and got tortured. I personally preferred the memoir but the film does not water anything down, romanticize it or sugar coat it with unrealistic scenarios in World War II. The movie adaptation stars Colin Firth, Jeremy Irvine and Nicole Kidman.

Remember Me- 

remember_me_2010_wallpaper3

I don’t think a single viewing of this film goes by without me feeling really sad as a result of watching it. Robert Pattinson stars as a troubled young man called Tyler who falls in love with Ally (Emilie De Ravin), a girl who is trying to connect with her father after her mother died when she was younger. Robert Pattinson did this one at the height of his Twilight fame and he did fairly well.

The Rover-

the rover

 David Michod directs The Rover, a movie that consists of Guy Pearce asking others to find the men who stole his car, usually at gunpoint, and he comes across Rey (Robert Pattinson), the dim brother of one of the thieves. I think Guy Pearce is a really good actor but Robert Pattinson is so brilliant in this one, despite his questionable southern accent. While Maps to the Stars and Cosmopolis are not very good films, The Rover is good because I like most of the movies set in the Australian outback because they are usually small films.

Saving Mr Banks- 

saving-mr-banks-570

Emma Thomson gives a compelling performance of the uptight and bitter Mary Poppins author P.L Travers, who sells her rights so that her book can be made into the film Mary Poppins. The film divides between P.L Travers as a heartless individual to scenes from when she was younger then you wonder why she ended up like that. It is a sweet little film and Tom Hanks brings his performance as Walt Disney to the absolute best that there can ever be. Also stars some other well known faces such as Jason Swartsman, B.J Novak and Paul Giamatti.

The Sixth Sense- 

sixth-sense-1

My older sister hates this film but I don’t mind it too much, as long as I watch it in the middle of the day. Haley Joel Osment stars as Cole, a little boy who can see dead people and seeks the help of a child psychologist called Malcolm (Bruce Willis). I suppose this movie does know how to scare you and make you jump from the perfectly timed jump cuts. Haley Joel Osment was considerably good in this role and he had more ways of acting than ‘look shocked’ or ‘look scared’. I also like some of Bruce Willis’ stuff like Sin City etc and he was brilliant as Malcolm.

Still Alice- 

still alice film

Julianne Moore stars in this film about a woman called Alice who is diagnosed with Alziemers at the age of fifty. I read the original novel before watching the movie and I cannot decide which one is better but Julianne Moore suited the role considering that I read the book knowing that she was going to play Alice.

V For Vendetta- 

v_vendetta

V For Vendetta is within my top 10 favourite movies. It is basically about a masked man who goes by the name V (Hugo Weaving) whos plan is to ignite a revolution with the help of a young working class girl called Evey Hammond (Natalie Portman) to get revenge on those who disfigured and tortured him. I’ve watched it so many times that I can quote it fluently and I can’t even remember why I like it so much, but I like the symbolism and the action scenes and the diologue and I don’t think anyone can ever play V quite like Hugo Weaving does. This is also the film that I was originally scared by due to the masks but I also got really into Natalie Portman and Hugo Weaving’s work.

Warm Bodies- 

R-Warm-Bodies-r-warm-bodies-33683380-615-462

Warm Bodies is basically Twilight but with zombies instead of vampires. It stars John Malkovich and Nicholas Hoult. While I do not think of it as more than a sweet little film for teenagers, it is an ok movie and Nicholas Hoult has certainly become more fit since he was in About a Boy (commonly known as growing up) so that’s probably one of the main reasons why people watch it.

Water For Elephants- 

8_Big_Differences_Between_Water_For_Elephants_Book_And_Movie_1303515497

I think this is the movie that got me into Robert Pattinson’s work and where I found out about Christoph Waltz. I also remember when it was out about four years ago and I collected stills from the film as posters. Robert Pattinson plays a vet student who runs away to the circus in the Great Depression and falls in love with the ringleaders wife Marlena (Reese Witherspoon). Admittedly, I do not watch it as much as I used to, but when I do, it brings me back to when I used to watch it all the time. I also read the book before I watch the film but luckily the film waters to book down to find an appropriate audience. Robert Pattinson was brilliant as Jacob and I prefer watching his outside of twilight roles because he brings more promise to his work, and I like how Christoph Waltz has that evil glint that he never has in photo shoots or interviews and only has it in most of his films.

The Zero Theorem- 

zero_theorem_03

Christoph Waltz stars in one of his only films after 2009 where the only thing that he wants to kill is his computer. The Zero Theorem is about a hairless man called Qohen Leth who seeks to prove a theorem and waits for a phone call to tell him the meaning of life while isolating himself in a chapel. It is an interesting film with a good color scheme and Christoph Waltz actually co-produced it but unless you like his acting or Terry Gilliam, you might not like it.

