DVD collection part 1

by missizziemcguinness

I collect DVDs. Alot of them, so much so that my DVDs and my books are the only thing in precise order. If you have read my previous posts, then I have written about nearly all of the movies before, and if you haven’t, I personally find it better to write them rather than explain it in a Youtube video. It’s always like a mini HMV on my DVD bookshelf.

Big Eyes-

christoph-waltz-in-big-eyes-movie-5

Big Eyes is directed by Tim Burton and stars Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz. It is about paintings of children with huge eyes and a dispute over who painted them, whether it was Margaret or Walter Keane. It is very much a docudrama and Christoph Waltz tended to overreact and recycle his Hans Landa role but I liked how he descended into pure madness throughout the course of the film, although I did find him a bit creepy to start with anyway and his charm was secretly manipulating. As for Amy Adams, she was an example of some sort of independent woman. I liked it because Tim Burton stepped out of his comfort zone and the color scheme was interesting because it looked like an actual painting.

Carnage- 

CARNAGE

Another Christoph Waltz movie but this time, Roman Polanski directs it. Carnage is based on the play ‘God of Carnage’, and it is about two sets of parents who meet about a fight between their respective sons. I haven’t seen it in a while and I remember it being really slow throughout its short duration.

Catch Me If You Can-

catch-me-if-you-ca_2426694b

I think that the last time I watched this was on holiday last year. However, that is not the point. Steven Spielberg (a personal favorite)  directs this biographical drama about Frank Abagnale Jr (Leonardo DiCaprio) who pretends to have all these careers and forged money etc, all before he turned eighteen. Considering that it has a good cast to include DiCaprio and Tom Hanks, it is a good movie already, and sometimes it made me laugh.

Children of Men-

Children-of-Men-Gallery-3

This is definitely one of my favorites, and everything in it is all too relevant. It is directed by Alfonzo Cuaron. To put it simply, Theo (Clive Owen) helps the first pregnant woman Kee (Clare-Hope Ashitey) in eighteen years in a post apocalyptic world of 2027. I have avoided mostly all the reviews and some of the interviews so that I could stay interested in the film for as long as possible, and apparently my cousin was part of the behind the scenes location process. I liked it because it is intelligent and realistic because it can happen any day and there is no hiding from it. It is one of the more intelligent dystopians and avoids the cliches of kicking butts and focuses more on how to survive when there is no hope for the future. Some people interpret Theo as a Jesus figure who dies to save humanity but I am simply amazed by the many interpretations that you can have with this film. plus, I personally think that Clive Owen is a really good actor and there isn’t any reason for it, except for his compelling screen prescence.

Dead Poet’s Society-

2010-10-04-DeadPoetsSociety1989CD2.avi_003839798

This movie coins the phrase ‘carpe diem’ which is used as a phrase in a majority of poems. It is about an English teacher played by Robin Williams who inspires a class full of gifted young boys in a strict all male boarding school. My sister got me the DVD as a present shortly after Robin Williams passed away, so it was a good little tribute to him when it contained some inspirational messages, telling us to ‘seize the day, make your life extraordinary’. It also has the young Ethan Hawke and Robert Sean Leonard, who were considerably good, and this film is probably the reason for my interest in studying and writing poetry.

Ender’s Game- 

tumblr_mk8d1vkdYW1rri3f0o1_1280

Asa Butterfield stars in the adaptation of the Orson Scott Card book of the same name. I read the book and saw the film, and I remember that the film squeezes in and cuts huge chunks out of the book but still manages to scrape enough footage together to give justice to the book. Asa Butterfield was very good in the film and it also stars Harrison Ford and Abigail Breslin.

The Great Gatsby-

gg

Baz Luhmann always has some way of interpreting something into a colorful and over the top display of a movie with hidden dark tones. One of my friends got this for me along with the theatrical poster several years ago. Leonardo DiCaprio was a good choice for the rich man and I love the soundtrack, the cinematography, the costumes, the actors etc. My favourite scene is the party scene because all the energy seemed to be released into that one scene and makes you feel like you’re at a rich man’s party.

Good Will Hunting-

download

I’ll admit that I haven’t watched this one all the way through. It’s not that I hate the movie or anything but I can never really finish it. Good Will Hunting is about a gifted mathematician who needs to find direction in his life. Robin Williams was very good in his role, as was the young Matt Damon, but I felt that I didn’t care for the characters.

Horrible Bosses 1+2- 

2_9413

I don’t think either of the two movies did very well at the box office, but I’m not interested in box office records when it comes to this film because both of the movies make me laugh. The actors, the comic timing, the comedy (rather crude and slightly unoriginal stuff is usually best if it is in the right context). Christoph Waltz was in the second one and he did a good job considering that he was only there because he’s Christoph Waltz.

Hunger Games-

hungergamesOST_wp

I read the Suzanne Collins novel a long while ago and I haven’t seen the film in ages but I am a huge fan of the dystopian genre, having to fight to the death and stuff. Jennifer Lawrence is an incredible and stunning actress who has the capability of being a strong character. I haven’t seen any of the sequels either but these sorts of films are very popular because they don’t pretend to be something that they are not.

If I Stay-

if-i-stay-movie-wallpaper-2

 If I Stay is about a young cellist called Mia (Chloe Grace-Moretz) and her decision to stay for the sake of her future after a car crash in a life and death situation. I had read the book before watching the film and I was surprised how it could be delivered onto the screen, although at times, it took inspiration from other movies like Ghost etc.

The Illusionist-

the-illusionist-5228afc8078ea

 I think I wrote about this movie in one of my first blog posts over two years ago. I haven’t seen it that many times since but it is about a magician in the late Victorian times played by Edward Norton and it stars the ever-stunning Jessica Biel. At one point, it was one of my favourite films but it isn’t anymore.

Inception-

rip-inception-dvd

I personally found that this was a really meaty film and I had to watch it in two parts because it was so long (although I could probably watch LOTR in one sitting). Inception is mostly about dreams and subconsciousness and it was interesting to look into all the symbolism (the spinning top) and it is one of those movies that gets you thinking in depth. Not only that, it also has very good cinematography.

Leon: The Professional- 

leon

I only really watched this because I wanted to see Natalie Portman in a role before stuff like Star Wars. Leon is about a hitman and a orphan, who seeks revenge on those who killed her family. Some aspects seem a bit weird considering that they involve a twelve year old and a forty year old, and I think it would have never dared to have been attempted in the 21st Century. Natalie Portman tackled such a huge topic while she was still really young and she is still healthier than nearly all the former child actors.

