Mary and Max

by missizziemcguinness

mary-and-max-22895-hd-wallpapers

‘It would be great if you could write back and we could be friends’

Mary and Max is a heartwarming tale about a young Australian girl called Mary (Toni Collette) and an old Jew/atheist called Max (Philip Seymour Hoffman) who develop a friendship through letters over a long period of time.

It is shot entirely in clay motion, and a suppose that that gives it a unique animation style. I haven’t seen a film like this before where it was used effectively (except Wallace and Gromit) so it was quite surprising to watch a film like this and be amazed by the incredible soundtrack that fits in with the pace, dark undertone and narration of the film. It made me laugh, cry and become mesmerized by the story.

I know of Toni Collette from other stuff like About a Boy and The Sixth Sense but that is not entirely the point considering that she was very good in this and gave her voice well to what I thought was an animated masterpiece. As for Philip Seymour Hoffman, he passed away last year and I wasn’t so interested in his films until now, but he had a very good voice.

I liked the claymotion and I think the whole writing back to forth to each other has been done in other films but it was never as effective as how the animators, director and creator of Mary and Max put it across considering that there is more to it than that. I also don’t think that it is any old animated film, what comes with the viewing includes several useful life lessons as Mary and Max were both considered to be strange to the outside world and all the clues are put together when Max is diagnosed with Aspergers and she is considered an outsider.

Good cast, soundtrack and animation. I seemed as if I was watching a long roller coaster ride and I would defiantly watch the movie again at some point in the near future, although I did find that it was very depressing. Just because it’s a cartoon, it doesn’t mean that it is always aimed at children. It also has an effective colour scheme and I like the bit at the end with the divide between black and white and colour. I also like how they both had unfinished intentions and everything about this film is all too powerful. You think that it will result in one thing and it results in something completely different. It leaves you thinking ‘How did they do that?’

Directed by Adam Elliott.

4.5/5

