Star Wars Episode I: The Phantom Menace

by missizziemcguinness

The-Phantom-Menace-Wallpaper-3

‘I don’t think so. Nobody can kill a Jedi’

George Lucas directs the first of this prequel trilogy, which is about the young Anakin Skywalker (Jake Lloyd) who brings balance to the force. It has alot of familiar faces, to include Natalie Portman as Queen Amidala/ Padme, Ewan McGregor, Samuel L. Jackson, Terence Stamp and Liam Neeson.

My knowledge of anything involving Star Wars is next to nothing. I am not very interested in the movies because I haven’t seen the originals and most of the fans would say that they prefer the original movies like The Empire Strikes Back etc and nearly all of the performances seem odd and robotic. I liked Natalie Portman’s range of costumes, and one of the things that the star wars trilogy supplies is good costumes and she seemed to be rather lovable but she wasn’t as good as she had promised with her pre-Star Wars roles i.e Leon: The Professional, but most of it was not really her fault. I also suppose that Jake Lloyd looks rather cute and angelic at the time but my interest in Star Wars does not expand beyond that.

However, I liked the costumes, and the idea of holograms and people fighting each other with light sabers has slipped its way into film culture and merchandising, so there is always light sabers and R2-D2 and a range of Yoda stuff in the shops, but holograms should stay well within the world of Star Wars. I don’t really care enough about the Star Wars franchise to obsessively love it, but I suppose the costumes, the famous soundtrack and some of the actors were good.

2.5/5

