Strangerland (2015)

by missizziemcguinness

strangerland

Strangerland is about a couple Catherine (Nicole Kidman) and Matthew (Joseph Fiennes) who find out that their children have gone missing, and they enlist a local police officer Detective David Rae (Hugo Weaving) to help to track the children down.

The reviews for this movie haven’t exactly been very stellar, and I can see why, it isn’t the sort of film which appeals to everyone. That may or may not have affected my opinion of this movie, but these sorts of movies never keep my attention.

As you may well know, I am a fan of Hugo Weaving’s work. He offers a completely different character with every single film role that he is in, and I like watching what he plays next. However, this is the only film that I have seen with him in it where the film itself is disappointing, so this one is no where near one of his best movies, although it does show some promise for his out-of- fantasy villains-roles. I was not expecting much from this film, but I was waiting and waiting for something to happen and it never did, and it did not exactly help that he was introduced in an inappropriate way, in a scene that wasn’t really needed. I have never really been a fan of Nicole Kidman anyway so I wasn’t expecting much from her character or the performance. They have clearly put in alot of effort and time into the role, and in some way Hugo Weaving was ok in it but films like Strangerland have never really appealed to me so it probably has got nothing to do with the cast. I would consider the movie to be better if these sorts of films appealed to me.

It is also one of the weirdest movies that I have ever seen. At some points, I don’t feel empathy for the characters, I felt some suspense but I doubt that I would ever watch this movie again unless I am desperate to, which is highly unlikely. I suppose that the fact that it is set is some sort of desolate Australian town makes it creepy, and the director tended to drop clues into what happened to the children, and it is left off on a disturbing cliffhanger, which is rather clever.

2/5

