The Road by Cormac McCarthy

by missizziemcguinness

cormac-mccarthy-the-road

The Road is a novel set in a dystopian and post-apocalyptic world where a father and his young son walk through a deserted America after civilization had been destroyed with nothing but a pistol, each other and little food to defend themselves and survive. It has been made into a film starring Viggo Morteson and Kodi Smit-McPhee but I haven’t actually seen the movie so I cannot compare the novel to any other material.

I actually liked this book. I liked the way that it was laid out- I think it was laid out as a indirect speech structure, although it took some time to get use to it. The scary thing is, all of this could happen tomorrow so a father and son would have to fight for survival. Not much is explained, so it is up to the readers interpretation to where they are and why they fighting for their lives in a bleak post apocolyptic world.

I wanted to read this book because I am a big fan of dystopian stories and I am actually writing dystopian at the moment so I needed more source material than Orwell’s 1984, The Matrix and the movie V For Vendetta so The Road would give me some idea of my own post-apocalyptic world. Most of the Road is taken up with simple sentences revolving around food and caring for the boy, because children and food are probably the most important thing, and what else is there to do when you’re trying to fight to live with little resources?.

Good layout and structure, bleak and simply written without the distraction of too many charecters.

4/5

