Mr Magorium’s Wonder Emporium

by missizziemcguinness

mmwe

‘Lightbulbs die. I will depart’

Mr Magorium’s Wonder Emporium is about a magical toy shop run by Magorium (Dustin Hoffman) who gives his shop to the insecure worker Molly Mahoney (Natalie Portman).

There was alot of criticism of the film, and I can see why. It is merely a bright children’s film with lots of magic, which leaves no room for character development or indeed any plot development, and it is up to the A list actors (to include Natalie Portman, Dustin Hoffman and Jason Bateman from Horrible Bosses) to make use of it. Indeed it is a movie for kids, but I like the color scheme which pushes the movie along, and I can’t help to say that Natalie Portman’s haircut in the movie suited her, but I don’t think that has anything to do with the film.

Good cast and colour scheme but don’t expect too much from it, and maybe I am the wrong age to adore it, and it is the type of film that I would watch on a rainy day on ITV2 for a bit of fantasy magic.

2.5/5

