RIP to two incredible actors

by missizziemcguinness

ro lee_getty

This hasn’t been my day at all, and it is not even your fault. Ron Moody, who played the legendary Fagin in the 1968 Oliver!, has unfortunately died at the age of 91. Oliver! is a film that I can watch time and time again, and he was maybe the most watchable out of the whole of the cast aside from Oliver Reed; his grubby face and his domineering presence. I was aware that he was an old man and still one of the few remaining actors of that film, yet I was not aware that he would go so soon.

However, what came as more of a shock to me is Sir Christopher Lee’s sudden death. Apparently he worked in film right up to the very end, and he is a prime example of someone who was still able to release heavy metal albums when older people are stereotyped to like opera, and someone who would work long after others would retire.

He was 93 and so far the oldest cast member of the Lord of the Rings and the Hobbit trilogy and apparently J.R.R Tolkien personally recommended him the part of Saruman. I am near obsessed with Lord of The Rings and I don’t think I would be able to watch the trilogy in the same way without thinking about his legendary presence, and an actor like him will never again walk the earth. Of course, he has been in nearly every film since the 1940s, including Dracula, the 2005 Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and the 2011 family film Hugo. Perhaps I will watch at least one of the films in the Lord of the Rings trilogy and Oliver! in tribute of these legendary actors who will no longer be with us. At some point, and if there is for any reason, a God up there, I hope that he will take good care of these wonderfully legendary but rather elderly actors, but we have once again lost two legends, but at least Heaven gained two more angels.

Rest In Peace Ron Moody and Sir Christopher Lee.

Thank you for giving us years of amazing films and I will watch some of  your films in your memory. Sir Christopher, welcome to the undying lands.

“To be a legend, you’ve either got to be dead or excessively old,” Christopher Lee 1922-2015

