The Adventures of Priscilla: Queen of the Desert

by missizziemcguinness

priscilla2

‘How many times do I have to tell you? Green is not your colour’

Stephen Elliott directs this slightly underrated and heavily criticized Australian road movie about two drag queens Mitzi (Hugo Weaving) , flamboyant Adam ‘Felicia’ (Guy Pearce) and a transsexual (Terence Stamp) who drive around in a tour bus performing songs and ABBA numbers at local clubs, until they find the real reason why Mitzi joined them with their elaborate costumes.

The movie was ok, I suppose. As it was primarily a road movie with hints of comedy in it, sometimes it got me laughing, other times I had no idea what I had just seen as the previous teasers also mislead me about the whole film. It is unfair that three actors like Guy Pearce, Terence Stamp and Hugo Weaving as men look better with heavy makeup, elaborate costumes and dressed as women than most of the population (no offence). They were also so convincing that I forgot that they were actually men.

All of  the actors were brilliant, but if it didn’t have Guy Pearce or Hugo Weaving in it, I would have probably never wanted to watch the movie altogether, even if it was for the good choice of numbers (hits). It was also made long before Hugo Weaving was type cast as an agent, elf or masked freedom fighter, and before Terence Stamp was in Star Wars etc. I doubt I would be able to see any of the actors in the same light again and the whole message of the film, beyond the bright costumes, is that it is a comedy of finding yourself.

Great choice of cast, soundtrack, funny from the ongoing ABBA jokes, jokes in general, brilliant actors but it is not one to watch with your parents.

4/5

