If I Stay (film)

by missizziemcguinness

‘Sacrifice. That’s what we do to people we love’ 

RJ Cutler directs this movie based on the novel by Gayle Forman. If I Stay is about a young celloist called Mia (Chloe Grace Moretz) who has to choose between living or dying in a half-living state after a car accident.

I have read the novel previously and reviewed it, and the film contains aspects of the book, staying rather faithful from book-screen, though some bits did not translate very well, if not at all. At first it is an average chick flick, stunning talented girl and rocker guy, yet even after the highlight of the whole movie, it still stays very clichéd until boom. Suddenly it makes you understand that you need to make life sacrifices, choices and decisions to make yourself, whether that is to live, sell your band and get into the music college that you want.

At times it felt as if they were copying classic films about ghosts, accidents and dead people such as Ghost (1990), I can see where the director got their influence from. Chloe Grace Moretz was very good as Mia from her striking screen presence and ability to carry a character and the fact that she also looks alot like one of my school friends. I had different perceptions of what the characters would look like, mostly her onsreen boyfriend Adam (Jamie Blackley) but he soon captivated me with his captivating onscreen charm.

I tend to go for movies that are aimed for people older than I am, so watching this movie was a step down for me as it was aimed towards the Twilight group, but it was worth it because I had read the book intending it to be research into my story, and enjoyed the book alot.

Great acting, soundtrack, incredibly sad but I might have to watch it again to reach any good judgement. Considering how good the novel was, it would be rather hard to translate it to screen. The book was more open to interpretation while the film was open ended, even though there is apparently a book sequel.

3/5

