The Woman In Black

by missizziemcguinness

‘Hello, who’s there?’

This is the first film that I have reviewed, where I have not actually finished watching it. It might seem that I would not have a general opinion about the whole film, but I saw enough of it to write about it and vaguely know what might or might not happen next.

The Woman in Black is based on the novel of the same name by Susan Hill. The film sees Daniel Radcliffe’s many miles away from the boy wizard in the 8 Harry Potter films that made him famous. Here he plays Arthur Kipps, a young lawyer who goes to investigate a late client’s house, only to find that he got more than he bargained for, including a terrible secret and the haunting of the woman who previously lived there.

I liked the colour scheme, obviously very dark and gothic; whilst we react to the accompanying backing music and the pace and timing of the jump scares more than Daniel Radcliffe tearing down wallpaper, opening doors and holding candles as he walks down a suspiciously haunted hallway. Radcliffe was brilliant as Kipps, and the director certainly knows how to scare his audience.

Like I have mentioned, I did not manage to watch all of it, and plan to not do so in the near future, but I should count myself lucky because I know someone who watched it in a friend’s house right next to a graveyard.

The jump scares build and show tension in a similar way to other horror films such as the Sixth Sense.

Cleverly filmed, but I don’t think I would be able to look at an old house, a graveyard, a rocking chair or an old house’s window in the same way again, but I think that is the intention of the movie.

Except for the Sixth Sense and Shutter Island, I tend to give these sorts of films a miss, even though I like the way that Woman in Black etc are filmed and keep viewers at the edge of the seat.

I don’t think this film is rubbish, but it is not one to watch when it is dark outside.

Jumpy, creepy but a generally ok movie.

2.5/5

 

