The Wolf of Wall Street

by missizziemcguinness

wolf-of-wall-street-leo-speaks

‘I WILL NOT DIE SOBER!’

Martin Scorcsese directs this black comedy bi0pic  about New York stockbroker Jordan Belfort (Leonardo DiCaprio, one of my all time favourite actors) , the party man, the sex addicted womaniser and the coke user as part of a life of corruption in the late 1980’s, and based on the book by the actual Jordan Belfort.

Despite the party scenes and the occasional hilarious parts, this movie does not fit the quality, entertainment or ability of DiCaprio, or his business partner Donnie, (played by Jonah Hill)’s other roles. For DiCaprio, a better role of his is The Great Gatsby or the lengthy Inception, although he certainly put across Belfort’s greed very well, and he does not fail to disappoint as he is probably more good looking that the actual guy, but he nearly always plays Leo DiCaprio, the guy obsessed with money. I don’t know whether the my thoughts of the film were let down because I am technically not old enough to watch the movie, or because the use of the ‘f’ word loses it’s meaning if it is uttered in every single line of the movie in the space of three hours, as well as the reoccurring nudity, which was always a bit much, no matter what rating the film is. DiCaprio doesn’t really take drugs- apparently he used Vitamin A tablets.

Ok film, it landed him multiple Oscar nominations, but I would probably appreciate it when I am a bit older. It is rather sickening watching women being used as sexual objects, but Belfort is the wolf and they are his prey. The movie also stars Margot Robbie as Belfort’s mistress and later wife Naomi, Jean Dujardin (I wouldn’t be able to watch him in the same way in the Artist  again) as Jean Jaurel, Joanna Lumley as Aunt Emma and Matthew McConaughey as Mark. I want my three hours back, it would have been better at two hours or less as it lost its meaning.

2.5/5

 

 

 

