The Devil Wears Prada

by missizziemcguinness

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Image

Based on the book of the same name by  Lauren Weisberger, The Devil Wears Prada is a comedy about naive young college graduate Andy Sachs (Anne Hathaway) with dreams of a career in journalism, but ends up working for one of the most cynical editor in chiefs of one of the top fashion magazines named Runway, and her boss is Miranda Priestly (Meryl Streep), and jepordizing her personal life to work as a second assistant alongside her snobby co-worker Emily (Emily Blunt) . 

I actually love this movie. Although I actually want to work in journalism some day it shows how much you have to risk behind the glossy pages of a magazine, even if it is fictional charecters based on actual people. I love Meryl Streep’s movies, I like how she adjusts to every role whether she’s playing a fairy princess or a cynical person.

I attempted to read the book, but couldn’t get past page 100. They changed the names and basically the whole plot, but I was suprised when Weisberger based Miranda Priestly on Vogue editor in chief Anna Wintour. The book was too dull, and I haven’t even read the sequel, but the movie was funny and just right because all the actors were good.

 

3/5 

