Ender’s Game

by missizziemcguinness

Image

 

 I find it hard to respect someone just because they outrank me, sir. Ender Wiggin

 

Firstly, I’ve been so busy with work and drama that I haven’t really spared a moment to write any posts for the last couple of weeks. Anyway, I think one of the most interesting genres which haven’t really been overused is the sci fi genre, and when I saw that Ender’s Game was out I decided to watch it. 

Ender’s game, based on the Orson Scott Card novel of the same name, is about a gifted boy called Andrew ‘Ender’ Wiggin who is recruited by the International military to fight against an alien race from a previous alien invasion. He eventually becomes a leader, despite being belittled earlier on. As a fan of Asa Butterfield, I think his choice of film to star in this sort of movie is better than some of the family friendly movies that he has starred in previously (Hugo, Nanny McPhee 2). The use of colour (orange for earth and lots of blue for zero gravity) shows the difference between safety and intense moments. 

I read the book prior to buying the film, and to be honest there was some parts of the book that would of made a good book to movie transition but never happened in the film. Despite the fact that in the novel, it spans from when he’s six to about twelve and in the film they focused on him being twelve, but maybe a small flashback could of fixed the stuff they missed out in the film.  At times it was slow, other times, especially in the Battle Room scenes, it was as if you could reach out and join them in zero gravity. 

If you want to see more Asa Butterfield movies, or like Harrison Ford Ben Kingsley, this is the film for you. The way they portray how kids are not trained to be kids, but to in fact kill, is somewhat different. In some ways it reminded me of zero gravity films like Star Trek.

It is a good film to watch if you want something different to watch, or enjoy this sort of genre. 

3/5

