Filth

by missizziemcguinness

Image

Based on the book of the same name by Irvine Welsh, John S. Bard directs a filthy, greasy romp (literally a romp) about a bipolar policeman who wants a promotion. Along the way, as well as the drugs, there is a tapeworm to deal with. Starring James McAvoy and Jamie Bell (Billy Elliot boy) this is nothing like any other James McAvoy movie. A separation from his usual roles as hunky love interests, and far from the dancing prepubescent boy for Bell (even if Bell did Billy Elliott over 13 years ago now), Filth gives a chance to McAvoy to pursue different roles.

Firstly, I don’t like this film as much as I would for movies within my comfort zone. The book, I actually refused to read as the front cover had a mouse or rat on it and I have a fear of even a picture of those sorts of rodents, however it is apparently a metaphor for being trapped. I nearly refused to watch this film as well. 

To begin with, as it is an 18 and not even my type of movie, I found that Filth was not a film for me because it was too weird to watch and it was rather peverse at times; if you want to watch a James McAvoy film don’t bother trying to start on this one, maybe watch Atonement or Gnomeo and Juliet. On the other hand, the cinematography of bluetones created  the effect of being rather dark, the sense of filth and drugs that get darker as the film goes on, and the hallucinations that he gets of his brother was interesting and probably the highlight of the movie itself.

Jim Broadbent was very good as Dr. Rossi, an unnerving psychiatrist of McAvoy’s character Bruce Robertson but the scenes of Rossi taunting Bruce are in fact only in his head, as are most of the film, and the frequent pig head.

Good film if you want a more mature James McAvoy film and presumably if you are over 16 or 18 or whatever, if you can handle several awkward scenes, however if your main comfort zone is blockbusting new releases in the cinema, cartoons or animated films, romance, sci fi, or the slightly watered down Martin Scorsese films then this is not the film for you. Considering it’s rating, don’t watch it with younger people (if you are below 18). Most of the scenes are rather comical, others are just plain weird. Maybe if I was older then I would enjoy this film a little more but I am not so its back to sci- fi films and twee rom-coms. 

2/5 

