The Fault in our Stars by John Green

by missizziemcguinness

Image

 

‘I’ll fight it. I’ll fight it for you. Don’t you worry about me, Hazel Grace. I’m okay. I’ll find a way to hang around and annoy you for a long time’

 

Now is Good meets My Sister’s Keeper in this poignant story of sixteen year old Thyroid cancer patient Hazel Grace Lancaster who joins a group and meets Augustus Waters, a boy who lost his right leg to another type of cancer. Both of them share their love of books and save their wish to go and meet their favourite author.   

Firstly, I enjoyed this book. I finished it after about three days and loved reading every word of it. My sister had read it, my friend had read it and considering there is a film version coming out about it starring actors that I haven’t really heard of, it inspired me to read it as books based on movies are better for comparative reasons.

It is a break from what I normally read and its necessary that it is predictable as there is little to no empathy techniques to make this book a drag, or dramatic punchlines that feel as if you are being lectured. The Fault represents the illness that is killing them as stars are usually bright. Any sort of cancer kills the best of people and the way John Green does all the characters, not all samey, such as Issac with the one eye Augustus with the one leg. 

However, some of it was a bit random  and maybe Augustus was too perfect. What is it with people like Edward Cullen and him that is always perfect? That’s probably the joy of reading a book and being sucked into a world where boys are perfect. 

 

I admit that I cried within the last hundred pages of the novel, although I cry at everything. If you want to read it, make sure you have several boxes of tissues at hand because it really gets you. I have never read a John Green Book before but he has a individual way of writing that, for example, you didn’t know the last chapter from the first page because you can draw conclusions throughout the book.

I suggest that you should read it, although it’s aimed for people aged about 12-20. 

4/5

