5 ways to get over the death of a relative or pet

by missizziemcguinness

Image

 

Nobody likes to say goodbye to the people that they love. Nobody expects to have to say goodbye to someone that they have literally known all their live. For the last year or so it has happened to me. 

My dog died last February, and although I should really move on, there is no way to do so. A dog is with you for ever, as of an old relative; Recently my great aunt died as well, and although I don’t really remember her that much, it’s upsetting realizing that our usually healthy family just has to move on and face the loss.

From experience, grief is a long, tedious and depressing period of time, where often you wish the person or animal which has died would just come back and give you a cuddle after a long day, or those dog paws that pattered along the ground will never be heard again. If you are going through this tough time, here are a couple of things that will help you get through that stage.

1.) Realize that maybe the particular person or animal was probably in alot of pain prior to its death

Not trying to be horrible or disrespectful at all, but maybe they had some sort of disease for years before they died and it was just better that they passed on. I hate the idea of death, of fatal diseases, who likes the idea that their relative or pet, that they have loved and cared for for years has to be taken to somewhere supposedly heavenly and stuff that you’ll never see again.

2.) Don’t get another dog until you feel like you are ready for another one

Dogs take a long time to get over, and even so you never can. I personally find it quite disrespectful if you get another dog within 1-5 years after the death of your last one, in fact, divert to another pet such as a cat or smaller animal if preferred but generally, buying another animal is only covering up the animal loss, not getting over it.

3.) Write about it- Poems, stories, the lot. It may be emotional for you, sometimes I would write about my dog in a poem or whatever then it would hurt too much to carry on- same goes for my great aunt really.

4.) Keep something of theirs- I think there’s still my dog’s basket somewhere and my great aunt use to be an artist so we have her paintings hanging up around the house. A great person is not the same person once their memory goes, or a pet is not the same pet when you can see they’re getting older by the day.

5.)  Remember that they are not gone- They may not wake up or fall asleep on your bed ever again (pets), but in actual fact they are nearby. Believe me, hearing that your pet has died is the worse, and when my mum was frantically calling the animal shelter I wished that I could just hear her bark again, or when my sister told me that our great aunt had died. I am older now than when I saw my great aunt last, and if she was alive and very pre- alziemers/dementia I wish I could have shown her my drawings that I love doing every now and then. Don’t forget them and I am sure you’ll be fine. 

Thanks for reading!

 

 

