House Rules by Jodi Picoult

by missizziemcguinness

Image

I brought this book just before I went for my annual French summer holiday with my family in about July/August time 2013. As I read it, I was interested in the way that they put the condition across and how everyone doesn’t understand it when it comes to a court of law, soon finishing the book in two days. Having read it now five times, I have decided to write about it. 

SPOILERS: House Rules is about an 18 year old boy called Jacob who has a fascination with forensic science, reguarly watches a fictional programme called Crime Busters and  has Aspergers Syndrome (a type of ‘high functioning’ autism, as the book quotes regularly) who is accused of murdering his social skills tutor only because he turned up at the crime scene and knew everything from the TV series that he had watched, and how he can’t look at people in the eye, while the police gett evidence from the quilt he left wrapped at the scene and he is eventually proved not guilty.

Aside from the fact that House Rules is interesting to read about someone with Aspergers and to read about someone who doesn’t have the condition, I found that it was fairly offensive in some parts (especially because a friend of mine knows/is related to people with autism/Aspergers), like regularly calling the lead an offensive name for people with a low IQ. 

I don’t like this book very much to be honest. An good read but I think its a bit weird that they just had to put in a relationship between the lawyer and the divorced mother who had to swear that her son was not guilty to maybe fill the empty gap and to maybe spice it up a bit.  The novel is ok in terms of showing maybe what someone with Aspergers would react to maybe being faced with something that isn’t a movie, and an account of an almost average teenage brother faced with challenges. 

Overall, I would give this book a 2/5.           

