Carnage (2011)

by missizziemcguinness

Image

 

Polanski presents a ”comedy” based on the play ‘God of Carnage’ following two sets a couples Alan Cowan (Christoph Waltz), an attorney, and Nancy Cowan (Kate Winslet), an emotionally distressed woman who doesn’t like her husband and simply wants to get ‘drunk off her ass’ and Penelope and Micheal Longstreet (Jodie Foster and John C Reilly) having a ‘serious’ meeting about a fight between their sons, soon turning into a full on bitch fight, inedible cobbler and Alan’s disruptive over the phone meetings. 

To start with, all four actors have been acting for 20+ years, but the weak plot lets them down. As a fan of Christoph Waltz, (https://ibirch99.wordpress.com/2013/10/26/christoph-waltz/) I think that he is really the only one actually acting, although I can only ever see him as the violate circus master August or Mandrake, but you would expect Reilly to turn to Ralph from Wreck it Ralph and Winslet to be on board of the Titanic.

The humour was dry and non exsistant in parts of it, I have not seen the original play, nor would I want to so I wouldn’t be able to compare it. Like my sister mentioned in her blog post, it was way too staged despite orignally being a play. Carnage is not really for my age group and lacks interest (Kate Winslet casually throws up) but the classic phone in the water is humorous.

 

I only really watch a film for the actors, and unfortunately this slips. I would rate it maybe a four or five out of ten. Not the best of any of the actors, or director’s films. Good actors but not too good as a film. 

Image

